You can remove a friend from your friends list at any time.
Start at the soon-to-be-ex-friend's Profile:
Click the "More" button and then "Remove Friend" from the list. Once clicked, that player is no longer on your friends list and you are no longer on his or hers.
Note: You must unfriend a player before the game will allow you to report or block them.